Departmental Administration

The Department of Pathology

The faculty, resident, technical and office staff is headed by Head of the Department. The technical staff consists of Senior Technical Officers, Technical Officers, Medical Laboratory Technologists and Laboratory Attendants. The office staff consists of Stenographer, Storekeeper, Data Entry Operators (DEO), Multi-Tasking Staff (MTS) and Museum caretaker.

Department Achievements:

Successfully organized the prestigious ISRTPCON 2022 State level Hematology quiz for the Puducherry was conducted by Dr. Prabhu Manivannan, in association with Dr. G. Jaikumar (Pediatrics) and Dr. Abhishek (Transfusion medicine)
Faculties’ achievements:

Sl. No Invited as guest speakers Delivered a talk in forum/ medical college
1. Dr. Debdatta Basu 1.      ‘Marrow Morphology and beyond’ and also a slide seminar on ‘Mixed Bag of interesting cases in Hematopathology’ in Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry Chapter of IAPM (TAPCON 2022) held at Tirunelveli on 8th and 9th July 2022 2.      Delivered an online lecture ‘In the era of automation, there is still a lot to learn from the peripheral smear examination’ at the Bombay Hematology Group webinar held on 24th July 2022 3.       
2. Dr. NG Rajesh Delivered a talk in workshop titled ‘Approach to renal biopsy, history, expected clinical and laboratory parameters, transport of specimen, adequacy of biopsy, common findings in glomerular, tubular, interstitial and vascular compartments’ held on ISRTPCON 2022
3. Dr. BH Srinivas 1.      Delivered a talk in workshop ‘Approach to proliferative and non-proliferative glomerulonephritis’ held on June 17th 2022 2.      Organising Secretary for the 15th National Conference and International CME of Renal & Transplant Pathology” held at JIPMER, Puducherry. 3.      Elected as Executive member of ISRTP for the year of 2022-2024. 4.      Officiated as Resource faculty and chairperson at academic programs and Conducted Annual general body meeting at TAPCON 2022 as Advisor of the Tamilnadu - Pondicherry IAPM.
4. Dr. Debasis Gochhait 1.      Delivered a talk ‘Cytology in diagnosis of breast lesions’ in National CME on ‘Comprehensive approach to breast lesions’ at Sri Lakshmi Narayana Institute of Medical Sciences’ held on June 17th 2022 2.      Delivered a talk in workshop ‘Interpretation of Immunofluorescence in kidney biopsy – Technique, interpretative clues, quantification, pitfalls’ held on June 17th 2022
5. Dr. Prabhu Manivannan Delivered a talk ‘Hematology as a career’ in Melmaruvathur Medical College as a part of their Medical Education program on July 24th 2022

All the faculties attended and chaired a session at the Recently concluded ISRTPCON 2022 

Student’s achievements:

Sl. No Student’s name Achievements
1. Dr. R. Arthy Won the third price for the poster titled ‘Blastoid variant of mantle cell lymphoma with extranodal presentation and aberrant CD10 expression’ in ISRTPCON 2022
2. Dr. S. Mithraa Devi Won the third price for the poster titled ‘The Catastrophic story of two Kid(ney)s – Goodfellas of Koch and Wilson and their ugly face’ in ISRTPCON 2022
3. Dr. Sharmila Won the first price for the poster titled ‘Three rare cases of T-cell/ histiocyte rich large B-cell lymphomas – the diagnostic challenges encountered’ in ISRTPCON 2022
4. Dr. Ananya Won the second price for the poster titled ‘Lupus erythematous (LE) cell in bone marrow: gateway to the diagnosis in an unsuspected case of systemic lupus erythematosus’ in ISRTPCON 2022
5. Dr. Manasa (Pathology), Dr. Adithya (Pediatrics) and Dr. Sriram (Transfusion Medicine) JIPMER team got qualified to the South Zonal level in Hematology quiz as a part of HAEMATOCON 2022
6. Dr. Lumen Prattipati Agarkar and Dr. Manasa  Awarded third place in Postgraduate quiz in TAPCON 2022 held in Tirunelveli Medical College
7. Dr. Priscilla (PhD scholar) Awarded the best research paper award in ISRTPCON 2022
8. Dr. Sreerag (PhD scholar) Won the first price for the poster titled ‘Standardization of  immunohistochemistry markers for bone marrow microenvironment’ in ISRTPCON 2022