Departmental Administration


Dermatology department office

Dermatology office is located at second floor of IPD block. Department office functions as the link between the departmental and institute administration. All the institute and external communications are channeled through the office. Dermatology office plays the role of back end office administration for the main wing of the department viz- outpatient clinics, in patient facility and minor operation theatre. Office administration activities include human resource management of doctors, nursing staff & para medical staff, assisting with conducting of symposiums & training Programmes, MD Courses & exams etc. Office is manned by one private secretary and two multitasking staffs.The departmental office also provides logistics support to above main & auxiliary wings of this department as regards to equipments, consumables, non-consumables, information technology infrastructures, office contingencies, etc. The other activities include forecasting of requirements, projection, budgeting, procurement, and technical/price bids evaluation, receipts of stores/ equipment, storing, distributions to its wings, maintenance contracts for equipments etc.

Head of the department (HOD)

The head of the department is acting as the chief executive officer of the department. As the staffs in the department are working in diverse domains, each faculty is allotted various areas for the betterment of services, teaching and research. Head of the department is responsible for all the academic and administrative activities. Clinical services are designated to individual consultants to ensure better patient care through individualized approach. Head of the department is the chairman of all the academic programs and courses running in the department. He is the convener of the MD and PDF exit examination. All research proposals need clearance from the head of the department. As the chairman of the department purchase committee, HOD has to generate the entire purchase requirement for the department and conduct the committee meetings. HOD chairs faculty meetings, in charge nurses meetings and all other meetings in the department. Head of the department initiates system changes taking inputs from ongoing feedbacks and discussions. Annual performance of each employee will be assessed by HOD and will be forwarded to the director.

Nursing administration

Eleven nurses are working in the department with two nursing in charges in the ward and 8 staff nurses working under them and one nursing in charge heading the outpatient services.

Nursing sister in charge oversees the systematic functioning and acts as a link with the institute nursing administration. She acts as the representative of nursing services of the department in all the hospital and departmental meetings. Interdepartmental co-operation in nursing services are ensured through Nursing sister in charge. All the institute and hospital policies in patient and personnel care regarding quality control, staff welfare etc. are communicated to all nurses through Nursing sister in charge. Nursing in charges are responsible for overall wellbeing of the patients and ensures smooth running of all services in their respective areas. All store indents from department store, central store, pharmacy, laundry and linen section are handled by in charge nurses. Duty scheduling are effected in respective service areas by charge nurses. In charge nurses are responsible for implementing all the institute guidelines like infection control, workforce safety, JIPMER quality council guidelines etc


    • Senior Professor
      • Devinder Mohan Thappa (On deputation as Director of NEIGRIHMS)
      • T.J.Jaisankar
    • Additional Professor and Head
      • Laxmisha Chandrashekar
    • Additional Professor
      • Rashmi Kumari
    • Assistant Professors
      • Malathi Munisamy
      • Sivaranjini Ramassamy
      • Remya Raj (On Contract)


    Senior residents

    • Perumal Manoharan
    • Irene Mathews
    • Jerene Mathews
    • Jude Dileep
    • Sujata Dora

    Junior residents

    • Chandhana Shajil
    • Abyramy Balasundaram
    • Swapan Joshi
    • Aishwarya Malladi
    • Sumit Khandelwal
    • Rakhavi
    • Kanmani Indra
    • Rajendar Devanda
    • Rohan Battacharjee
    • Chetan
    • Kunal Kumar Paul
    • Madhu
    • Arvind
    • Aimin Baby
    • Logamoorthy
    • Subramanian
    • Arun Subramanian
    • Senthil Kumaran

    Post doctoral Fellows

    • Manobalan K – Pediatric Dermatology
    • Reshmi – Dermatosurgery and Lasers

    PhD scholars

    • Reshma Agarwal
    • Veerakrishna Ediga

    Senior Research Fellow 

    • Dr. Charanraj Goud (DHR Research Project with Dr Laxmisha Chandrashekar as PI).

    Office Staff:

    • Private Secretary: Ramasamy
    • Multitasking Staff: Dhanujay, Mr. Mannangatty

    Nursing Staff: 

    • Nursing Sister in charge Ward 26 : Sayilakshmi Bascarane
    • Nursing Sister in charge Ward 02 : Jayakumari Moshe
    • Nursing Sister in charge OPD 85 : Jayalakshmi
    • Staff Nurses:

    Ward 26 :

    • Anitha
    • Abin Cherian
    • Ajmal Babu
    • Safeerali M

    Ward 02 :

    • Sumathy V
    • Jincy George
    • Syam Mohan
    • Mariyaselvam

    Laboratory staff:

    • Lab supervisor: Samsudeen
    • Lab Assistant (DRL) : Srinivasan

    Ancillary staffs:

    • MPW in OPD: Meena, Ms. Karpagam
    • Nursing orderly in OPD : Magali & Mr. Sampath

    Ward 26:

    MNA : Natarajan

    DRL : Mrs. Dhanalakshmi

    SMC : Mrs. Kokilambal

    Ward 02:

    MNA : Pazhanivel G

    SMC :  Mrs. Selvisankaran

    Mrs. A Thamilselvi

    Mrs. Govindammal